David Elman Does It Again

As I have discussed in my one of my earlier posts regarding my current obsession with the wedge boot, I have been hunting high and low for the perfect pair. Whilst I have become rather attached to these amazing Alain Quilici Faceted Wedge boots (love the futuristically-sculpted hidden wedge heel combined with short pointed toe)…there was no way I was able to spend the €455 (which equates to about a kazillion AUD) to attain them. *sigh*

Then all of a sudden the clouds parted, and the sun came out shining as bright as I have ever seen it shine before. And what did I see appearing before me in a TradeMe auction… but the most wonderful pair of black suede ankle wedge boots by David Elman.

David Elman black suede ankle wedge boots David Elman black suede ankle wedge boots
Although I have seen David Elmans’ shoes around from as far back as I can remember, there isn’t very much information about him available. I do know that he is a talented shoe designer from NZ, and it is clear from the craftmenship that Elman’s shoes are carefully handmade and are of high quality. Considering the height of the heel (approx 9cm) and the rather thin leather sole, I can also vouch for the fact that his shoes are very comfortable to wear as well!

me wearing my new pair of David Elman black suede ankle wedge boots
The last time Elman bought happiness to my feet was a while ago when I found a pair of his beige and ivory brogues at my favourite vintage store in Wellington – Ziggurat. You can see me wearing these here, or view them in their glory below:

david elman vintage brogues from Ziggurat
david elman vintage brogues from Ziggurat

Leave a comment