Nature’s Skeletons

Do you have a favourite season? If you had a choice, would you choose to live in your favourite season all year round – or would you prefer the variety of 4 seasons? Coming from someone who loves fashion (and shopping!), I live for my Spring/Summer and Autumn/Winter wardrobes. Every 6 months or so, I pull out my suitcase full of clothes/accessories etc that I’ve packed away 6 months before and refresh my closet for the new season. Sometimes it’s like Christmas all over again, picking up pieces of clothing I have forgotten about over the months…”oh that’s right, the cute little lace tee I bought last summer!” Or, “yay I get to wear my favourite snuggly angora wool hat again!” Not only that, each season bring me the joys of seeing new designer collections down the runways along with the excitement and anticipation of the continuous flow of fashion weeks. And of course, there is the shopping!

But if I was to pick a favourite season, hmmmm…it would probably have to be autumn. There is something about autumn that gives me the warm and fuzzy feeling. Colours are different, the smell in the air is different, even people are different. It is a season of transformation, and while I am normally someone who gets a little iffy with too much ‘change’ – who doesn’t admire the beauty of nature during autumn (and love kicking about in the piles of fallen leaves!?).

prismera design jewelry Cast Collection
Jewellery maker, Laura Su, also sees the beauty in nature’s transformations. She has developed a beautiful collection for her jewellery label, PrismeraDesign, entitled: Cast Collection, based on the various stages of decay of the dead and weathered leaf. While her source of inspiration may sound a little sad and morbid, her philosophy behind the collection brings us a better understanding of where she is coming from:

“..I see them [leaves] as reminders of what must be cast off in order to face the future. Every year, as trees shed their leaves in preparation of a new beginning, I am filled with a poignant mixture of regret, nostalgia, and most importantly, hope.” – Laura Su.

prismera design jewelry Cast Collection favorites ash leaf ring and falling leaf necklace

Not only is her collection absolutely amazing and truly captures the essence of autumn and nature combined, Laura Su is giving away a free 14k gold fill necklace with a black, faceted gemstone drop with every order until the end of September 2009. Most of the pieces are also available in either bronze, silver or 14k gold upon request. The two pieces of jewellery above (left to right: ‘Ash Leaf Ring’ and ‘Falling Leaf Necklace’) are my favourites, and while I may not prefer to live in my favourite season all year round – I’ll happily wear it instead! ;o)

Leave a comment