Blazer-in’ Glory RTWS09

I’ve become a little obsessed with finding the perfect summer blazer at the mo, especially after seeing some very cool styles on the runways and online. I actually bought myself a fantastic oversized double-breasted wool blazer off TradeMe just before I left, only cost me $5.50 and it’s a gorgeous grey. However, it is hanging amongst my other winter coats and jackets back in Wellington, awaiting my return to bring them back to life in Melbourne. It really sucks not having most of my wardrobe with me right now 😦

Anyways, back to business. The blazer. Spring RTW 09 saw some fantastic styles of blazers – and we are not talking about the typical suit jacket. The blazer seems to have taken on a different role next Spring, worn with casual ease, as if replacing the cardigan. Loose fitting longer-length blazers worn over minis or little shorts are eminent, and there were several that were adorned with embellishments or just detailed on the collars or small areas of the jacket.

(Left to right: Jil Sander; Chloe; Stella McCartney; Topshop; William Rast)

(Left to right: Alexander Wang; Stella McCartney; Balmain; William Rast; Topshop)

There is also a huge popularity in the sleeveless jacket/blazer, either worn belted on its own, as a dress, or as a layering piece to an outfit. You could say that this is an alternative or a continuation of the fur vest trend that is evident this winter (Northern hemisphere) – except catered for the warmer temperatures of up-coming Spring/Summer.

(Left to right: Barbara Bui; Alexander Wang; Topshop; Jil Sander; Topshop; 3.1 Phillip Lim)

Here are some pickings of stylin’ people kickin the blazer trend – I especially love the one worn by girl with the green pony bag (and such a cute bag too!). It looks like a true vintage tweed jacket but the exposed zip pocket and contrast panelling on the collar potentially suggests otherwise. The oversized navy blue boy blazer with brass buttons is also a favourite, although I wouldn’t mind it in a fitted tailored style too. Let the hunt continue…

(Image credits: Facehunter, Karlas Closet; Garance Dore)

Leave a comment